How to delete a contact from WhatsApp but not from the phone

WhatsApp uses the phone book on your mobile device to create your contact list. and displays your profile within the app. A cool feature until you get stuck with it for the worst. Let’s say you want to delete contacts from WhatsApp but not from the phonebook. What choice do you have?

Delete contact only from WhatsApp

There are many reasons why you want to do this. You exchanged numbers with a plumber or an electrician, but you don’t want to receive New Years messages or see their WhatsApp stories. Or you just broke up a long relationship (how are you?) And now you want to remove his WhatsApp number, but not necessarily from your phone book. You don’t want to delete the number permanently; otherwise, you will never be able to communicate with them again. But getting updates or messages from them can be a burden, if not uncomfortable.

I went straight to the WhatsApp site, hoping they had a solution, but just advised to delete the contact from my phone. Typical! I do not want to delete the number of my friend that I am no longer talking to.

Method 1: block them on WhatsApp

WhatsApp offers a feature where you can block a user. What this means is that the user will no longer be able to view your profile, status update, last seen information, or message and call you, but the user can still call and message you using other phone and messaging apps. Therefore, you can still call each other if necessary without receiving unwanted messages or updates.

Steps

Search for the name you want to block and open the chat window. Click on the three points in the upper right corner of the screen. There is an option called View contact. Click on it.

whatsapp block step

Scroll a bit and you should see the block option in red font. Click on it and confirm. Are you ready.

whatsapp block step 2

Blocking someone on WhatsApp does not mean that you will remove the user number from their WhatsApp. Your name will follow show in search, but you will stop seeing story updates and you will no longer receive messages or calls from them.

If the person blocked by you tries to call, you will hear the ringing of the call, but it will not reach you. You won’t even see a call blocked notification. The call will be disconnected automatically after ringing for some time, and the blocked person will see the message “Unavailable“. If it weren’t locked, I would have seen “Unanswered call“message. This is a good way to know if someone has blocked you. More importantly, the user will not be able to see your profile, profile picture, or other account details.

Method 2: save the number as a note (not on the SIM!)

There’s a Quora thread which suggests transferring the contact from your Google memory / phone to your SIM card can solve this problem. The method no longer works due to a recent update in WhatsApp that does not allow you to change the way contacts are displayed within WhatsApp.

Of course, you can download and install an older version of the app, but then you will run out of advanced features like WhatsApp Pay and other security updates were released after that version. Not recommended.

To counteract this situation, I decided to edit the contact and save the number not in the number field, but like a note. In this way, WhatsApp will think that the number has been deleted and will not show you the updates. If you have cared for your privacy settings, your plumber should no longer be able to see your profile because you technically don’t have his number stored. But you must save the number for the correct name so you can look it up in the contacts app when the time comes.

Do you know of any other way to remove WhatsApp number or stop seeing the history update or receive messages from a contact? Let us know in the comments below.

Recommended For You

Deja una respuesta

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *